The American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine (ACLAM) is a specialty board recognized by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) as the certifying organization for laboratory animal medicine, a recognized specialty within the veterinary medical profession. ACLAM was founded in 1957 to:

  • encourage education, training, and research in laboratory animal medicine;
  • establish standards of training and experience for veterinarians professionally involved with the care and health of laboratory animals; and
  • recognize qualified persons in laboratory animal medicine, through certification examination and other means.

Candidates who pass the ACLAM certification exam receive the title of Diplomate. ACLAM has certified over 931 veterinarians as active specialists in the field of laboratory animal medicine.

ACLAM's active membership comprises over 1,100 Diplomates. There are 931 active Diplomates, 169 retired Diplomates, and 17 honorary members.

ACLAM is also a member of the International Association of Colleges of Laboratory Animal Medicine (IACLAM).


ACLAM was chartered on February 18, 1957, and is incorporated under the laws of the State of Illinois as a not-for-profit organization.

ACLAM was originally established as the American Board of Laboratory Animal Medicine by 18 "charter Fellows" who had made significant contributions to laboratory animal medicine and were actively engaged in the specialty. The name of the organization was changed to its present form on August 24, 1961, and the term "Fellow" was discontinued in favor of "Diplomate."

The basic policies and concepts of ACLAM have not changed since its formation. Testing and certification of qualified veterinarians who specialize in laboratory animal medicine is our highest priority. Through our educational programs, members and the scientific community are apprised of advances in laboratory animal medicine. A strategic plan to enhance and broaden ACLAM activities was approved in 1993 and implemented in 1994. Updates to this plan have occurred every five years.